Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)

Mv 1

Lamento d'Arianna

A new critical performing edition

Edited by Barbara Sachs

for soprano (c'#-e'') and bc

Price: £ 6.90

This is both a scholarly edition, based on a careful study of all the extant sources of this famous piece, and a practical presentation which everyone will find easy to read. Barbara Sachs has provided a comprehensive essay on the history of Arianna the opera, and of the various sources which are all that is left to us of what was undoubtedly one of Monteverdi's most important works.

Cover image: download
Sample page: download
In preparation
Mv 2

Voglio di vita uscir

A critical performing edition of both the 17th-century Italian manuscript sources for this striking vocal work.

the 'Neapolitan' MS is in D major (c'#'-f'');

the 'Florentine' MS is in C major (b-e'')

Edited by Barbara Sachs

for solo voice and continuo

Price: £ tbc

Voglio di vita uscir (SV.337) is based on variations on the Zefira torna (SV.251) 'ciaccona' bass,