Giovanni Antonio Rigatti (1615-1649)

Giovanni Antonio Rigatti (1615-1649) was one of the leading composers of church music of his time. He was a choirboy at S. Marco Venice, and later trained as a priest. At the age of 22 he “was maestro di capella at Udine cathedral; his reputation was already so high he was awarded a salary twice that of his predecessor.”(1) In total, he published nine volumes of sacred music (five of solo and concertato motets, four of psalms including three Masses) and two volumes of secular music (monodies and concertato madrigals).

Rig 1

In te Domine speravi

(Psalm 31)

Edited by Simon Hanks

for two sopranos (d'-e''), bass (G-e'b) & organ continuo

Price: £ 7.90

The present work, a setting of the first six verses of Psalm 31, is based on a set of manuscript parts in the Düben Collection at the University of Uppsala. This collection, assembled mainly by Gustav Düben the elder (1628-90), includes around 2,300 manuscripts from the 17th and early 18th centuries. Anders Düben and his son Gustav and his sons Gustav and Anders all held the post of Hofkapellmeister at the Royal Swedish Court from 1640 to around 1726. The collection is thought to represent what remains of the music library from the Swedish Royal Court of this period.

Cover image: download
Sample page: download
To order: