Four Duets

from Orpheus Britannicus

Henry Purcell (1659-1695)

for soprano (c'-b''flat), bass (G-e'flat) and bc

Ref. no Pur 05 (in 'cantatas')           sample page      cover page      To order:     

  • For love ev'ry creature
  • When Myra Sings (Z.521)
  • Leave these useless Arts (Z.579)
  • Come, let us leave the Town (Z.629)

These beautifully written pieces represent quite a challenge technically. The first appears only in Orpheus Britannicus, which was published posthumously for the support of Purcell's widow Frances. The others are to be found among Purcell's music for the theatre.