Luzzasco Luzzaschi

Luzzasco Luzzaschi is most famed for his 5-part madrigals which were published in 7 books over the period 1571-1604, printed either in Ferrara, or in Venice. Luzzaschi served for many years in the Este court in Ferrara, eventually becoming the most important musician in the large musical establishment maintained by the Duke Alfonso II. He took charge of the duke's private musica da camera, a notable feature of which were performances by three virtuoso sopranos - the concerto delle donne. The repertory performed by these three ladies was kept a closely guarded secret and has been dubbed musica secreta. It included, among other works, madrigals for two and three voices, some of which were probably composed by Luzzaschi.

Four Duets
O dolcezze amarissime d'Amore
Troppo ben pùo
T'amo mia vita
Non sà che sia dolore
Occhi del pianto mio